I am the first one up in the morning, and the last one to go to bed at night. There’s something about those first few and last few moments of the day that I treasure. No one is demanding my attention and I can think without distraction. I am an introvert, so the solitude is necessary in order to maintain my sanity in this house full of extroverts.

As I am writing, it is approaching midnight. I just carried my youngest child upstairs to bed. He was enthralled by Toy Story. He watched the entire film before crawling into my lap and drifting off to sleep. I cradled him and stared at his handsome little face until my heart began to ache. I checked on my daughter and found her safely snuggled with my husband in our bed. I found my middle two sons sound asleep in bed among caches of small toys. I did not hear the telltale clicking of controller buttons, which let me know that my teenage son went to bed at a reasonable hour tonight.

I will be going to bed soon, myself. I just wanted to write a little something to get my feet wet.

