Rainbow Baby

I was pregnant twice in 2010. I was quite excited about the first pregnancy because the due date was my birthday. I suffered through morning sickness at work (ugh!). But something went wrong. The sickness dissipated early. The baby stopped moving. I went to the ER. The tiny rapid heartbeat was missing. The “spontaneous abortion” was harrowing. It was as physically painful as labor, yet there was no joy to look forward to. Just grief. We decided to try to have one more child because my husband wanted a girl.

Two short months later, I was pregnant again. I was nervous about every visit to the doctor, but the heartbeat was strong every time. Almost a year to the day after the miscarriage, I gave birth to a gorgeous baby girl. She looks just like her father and she has his fiery temper.

The Diva is a force to be reckoned with. I pray for her future husband. As I type this, she is in her room playing with The Monster. Every few minutes, she screams because he wrecks her play set-up. It’s what he does. She should know that by now.

The Diva is quite artistically inclined. She loves to sing, dance, draw, sculpt, paint, and pretend to be someone else (noted personas: Katerina and Freddie). She also loves to read and is currently learning some sight words and how to sound out words. She likes to read stories to The Monster.

I thought that once she turned two or three she would become Daddy’s Girl, but I can’t beat her off with a stick. I even asked her recently, “Are you Daddy’s girl?” She didn’t miss a beat, “No. I’m Mommy’s girl.” She is my most enthusiastic helper and my shadow. I look forward to helping her grow into a good woman.

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Baby”

Leave a comment